Bangladesh – The Forgotten Country

BANGLADESH, definitely an experience one would not forget; be it for better or for worse. Some would say it is a country they would least like to visit. I would say it is a place where my heart have grown fond of.

I can’t really explain my fascination for Bangladesh; can’t be the bustling city life, the cramped conditions, lawless traffic, the piercing smell of rotten..well rotten everything. Maybe it’s the food, the people, the rural scenery or the way it reminded me of simpler days gone by (not that I’m old,but I remember there being days where people’s hands were not glued to a special, small, square-ish device). Maybe it’s the whole package.

I didn’t really think about the trip prior to getting on the plane – destination Dhaka. My mind was elsewhere. Thinking back, it did me some good. I could experience Dhaka and Bangladesh without any untoward feelings, without any impure thoughts. I could experience Dhaka and Bangladesh like it was supposed to be experienced – a foreign land, an unchartered territory, an exciting new place.

The main objective of the trip was for social work. I got on the plane with 4 other persons from a national TV station and we were also there to film a project. What we got were more than just clips and footage; we got a feel of the place. From Dhaka to old Dhaka to rural villages hours from Dhaka. Each place leaving its indelible mark on us…well, on me for sure.

EVERYTHING was a sight to behold. Manual labour building highways and skyscrapers. Animals, a form of vehicle in the city. Ringing bells, signalling a train is about to pass through the track (without anyone scrambling to make way). Rickshaws, rickshaws everywhere. People on top of buses and trains. Houses on the side of the street, built from cardboard boxes and/or plastic sheets. Kids playing on the street during school hours. Everything.

The food were excellent. You can tell how excellent they were by the fact that I didn’t photograph any of the food served. Of course this is down to gluttony (a habit I picked up only in Bangladesh) and well, the food on offer. Regardless of what you may have heard from others who have (or in some cases, have not) been to Bangladesh, the food must be experienced first-hand. Do you run the risk of stomach ache? Sure. Did I care? Not so much – and my stomach is safe.

The people were nice. We were served food and drinks which, from the looks of it, were considered special to our hosts. I really don’t think they themselves eat or drink what’s on offer except maybe on special occasions. How can we say no to such hospitality? It was everywhere.

From the pictures below, you might not get the full experience of Bangladesh. You definitely won’t get the whole perspective. But for me, it has shed some light to a country which, it seems, has been forgotten – abandoned, forced to inhale dusts left by a world that is too eager to develop.

The city of Dhaka

Children playing goli next to train tracks

The magnificent train, just about everywhere where space is available can be boarded

Kids making a living

Jackfruit, the national fruit

Old Dhaka

Wendy Neoh and Prof Sukari walking down an alley.

Dzia one of the tv crew. Cramped space between two buildings.

On the way to Munshiganj, 2 hours from Dhaka

Rose, one of the tv crew. Yes we were fascinated by the water pump.

The rural area of Dhaka, Munshiganj

An Indian temple. I think it’s abandoned.

Hairul, one of the tv crew. They were as fascinated of us, as we were of them.

We were welcomed with open arms.

Jute.

Back to Dhaka, the city.

Night time in Dhaka. We were rushing because stores and markets close at 8pm.

The market. Plenty of jeans, unfortunately I don’t fancy jeans.

Sewing business at the side of the street. Also at the side of the street, barbers, weighing scale business and fruit stalls.

Souvenir market. Bulky souvenirs.

Some friends I met there.

Us with our guide, AlAmin. The best guide/guardian in town.

Panoramic view of Dhaka stitched unprofesionally. Yes, I didn’t actually plan to stitch the photos. This is the only 3 photos I’ve got of the whole North side of the city (I think North)

Comments
6 Responses to “Bangladesh – The Forgotten Country”
  1. Zila says:

    Terbaeekk..!!

  2. nuttypeanut says:

    wow.. what an experience!

  3. Nawed says:

    Loved the blog! May you keep coming back.

Leave a Reply

